2016 Newbery and Caldecott Winners Announced

Each January, the American Library Association announces the winners of prestigious awards for children’s books. We are thrilled to announce the 2016 Newbery and Caldecott Medal Award winners!

2016 Newbery Medal Award Winner

Last Stop On Market Street

Last Stop on Market Street, written by Matthew de la Peña and illustrated by Christian Robinson

Summary: A young boy rides the bus across town with his grandmother.  His grandmother helps him appreciate the beauty in their routine and the world around them.




2016 Newbery Honor Books

War that Saved my LifeRoller GirlEcho

The War that Saved my Life, written by  Kimberly Brubaker Bradley

Roller Girl, written and illustrated by Victoria Jamieson

Echo, written by Pam Muñoz Ryan


2016 Caldecott Medal Award Winner

Finding Winnie

Finding Winnie:  The True Story of the World’s Most Famous Bear, illustrated by Sophie Blackall and written by Lindsay Mattick

Summary:  A woman tells her young son the true story of how his great-great-grandfather, Captain Harry Colebourn, rescued and learned to love a bear cub in 1914.  This remarkable bear became the inspiration for A.A. Milne’s Winnie-the-Pooh.



2016 Caldecott Honor Books

WaitingTrombone ShortyVoice of Freedom

Last Stop On Market Street

Waiting, written by Kevin Henkes

Trombone Shorty, pictures by Bryan Collier and words by Troy Andrews

Voice of Freedom:  Fannie Lou Hamer, Spirit of the Civil Rights Movement, illustrated by Ekua Holmes and written by Carole Boston Weatherford

Last Stop on Market Street,  illustrated by Christian Robinson and written by Matt de le Peña

Click here to find other Caldecott Award winners that are available for check out.